Apples, Apples, Everywhere!

Apple muffin trays

With fall comes many warm and delicious dishes that fill your house with inviting smells. I recently went apple picking with some friends and came home with a heavy bag of delicious apples. I have taken a few to work for snacks for me and my coworkers, and I told my parents to do the same, but we haven’t made a dent! So, I thought I should try baking an apple dish. There’s the traditional apple pie which everyone enjoys, but I wanted to try something different this year.

When I say I am not a baker, I can assure you it’s the truth. I can make a simple cake or cupcakes but that’s about it! Searching online, I found a recipe for apple muffins that seemed pretty easy for an amateur baker. I’ve had apple muffins, but they were always from stores, never homemade.

Here is the recipe (courtesy of Pamela from http://www.food.com/recipe/ernas-apple-pie-muffins-57629):

Topping

  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted

Batter

  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup buttermilk (or use 1 tsp vinegar in 1 cup milk)
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar
  • 2 cups diced apples

Directions:

  1. Topping-mix all together, until mixture forms crumbs.
  2.  Batter- Whisk together egg, buttermilk, butter, and vanilla.
  3.  Stir in sugar.
  4.  Without mixing, add flour, baking soda, salt and apples.
  5.  Stir just until combined.
  6.  Do not over mix.
  7.  Spoon into muffin cups.
  8.  Sprinkle with the topping.
  9.  Bake at 375 degrees F for 20 minutes or until firm to the touch.

The preparation was easy to follow, but it took me a little bit longer to prepare because I was a little bit rusty. As the muffins were in the oven, I kept catching myself sniffing the air when I was cleaning up and listening to a football game on TV. The smell of apples and brown sugar made me check the timer every few seconds hoping the time was almost up.

Finished apples

Finally, time was up, and I was so excited to take them out of the oven. After carefully placing them on the cooling rack and letting a few minutes go by for them to cool, my mom and I dove in to do a taste test. This was an easy and yummy recipe, definitely one that I will hold on to and hopefully make again and again. Go ahead try it! Let me know what you think!

-Jenna

Categories: Blanket, Throw & Sheet Commentary | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

