I was country when country wasn’t cool.

… If any of you remember that song, I think you’ll relate well to my story.

I'm grateful for country music

Photo from Pinterest.

As I sit and watch TV, the commercial for the upcoming Country Music Awards (CMA)  show comes on.  Memories flood into my head.  I grew up in a small country town with sidewalks, doors unlocked, and mom’s 5 o’clock daily whistle  (which was our cue to run home from playing at a friend’s house).  I had a small hometown life — quaint and safe.

During my childhood, my parents would listen to Hank Williams Jr., Bobby Darren, Johnny Cash, Loretta Lynn, Conway Twitty, Porter Wagner, Dolly Parton and George Jones.  The music was slow, soothing, and told a story.  Granted, it usually was a sad story, yet when I hear one of the “oldies” today, I smile as I am transported back to my childhood.

Although the great icons of country music were part of my youth, it wasn’t cool to tell anyone you listened to country music in the punk rock and pop era. I did listen to Top 40, and a few of my favorites are Steve Winwood, Rick Astley, and Toto.  But my heart belongs to country music and I found myself always reaching for the radio dial and changing the station to  country Q100.

couple cuddling

Cozy up and watch the CMAs!

I want to ask all country music fans, like myself, to take a moment on November 1 when the CMA show is on and give homage to the icons of country music.  The voices of yesterday lit the walkway for today’s stars to SHINE.  Those stars of yesteryear made the country music foundation strong and sturdy.  That foundation supports the versatility of music that falls under the country music umbrella of today.

On November 1, curl up under a cozy throw and enjoy the CMA show.

-Marlene     #1 Fan of Alabama

Categories: Blanket, Throw & Sheet Commentary | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “I was country when country wasn’t cool.

  1. We don’t get a lot of country music here, so I can’t really comment. Glad it brought back good memories for you.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

