A Christmas Reflection by Marlene

VintageSanta

From Pinterest/FloridaLeisureBlog

The holiday season is celebrated in many different ways around the world, varying by country and region. Elements common to many areas include the lighting of the tree, wreaths, Christmas stockings, candy canes, and family gatherings!  There is the ever popular sending of Christmas cards and the exchange of Yule tide greetings. I enjoy this season the most as everyone you meet seems to be in a good mood.

My family’s Christmas tradition is to go over to my aunt’s house on Christmas Eve for dinner, discussion, and GIFTS!  Our whole clan meets on this day! There were around 17 of us when I was a child, we are now up to 43 of us. Funny, the house never seemed too small when I was a child! But now…

We have a traditional holiday meal. LOTS and LOTS of food and good cheer. Adults at one table and children (anyone under 17) at the little table.  It was a thrill when I finally made it to the big table! After a great meal, the children play while the adults sit and catch up on what is going on and reminisce.

About an hour later we all converge in the living room around the beautiful 8-inch blue spruce Christmas tree.  It’s awesome! So much positive energy in one room.

My fondest Christmas memory is related to the collective gift opening experience.  When I hear my dad’s deep yet gentle voice call out the names, I recall happy childhood memories, so it brings me comfort. My dad is the designated “Santa.” He is a big man who looks like a cuddly teddy bear and has a deep voice.  Every year my dad sits near the tree with his legs crossed, and call out the names on the tags, one by one.  We make each gift opening and event.  We wait to see what the person receives, and then we “ooh” and “ahh” over the item.  Then on to the next name, and we  “ooh” and “ahh” once more! Every year the children wiggle their way to sit as close as they can to my dad, ” Santa.”   As I sit here and write this, I am smiling ear to ear.  I can’t wait to see the smile on their face and the true love and amazement in the children’s eyes as they sit and wait to hear my dad call their name.

Enjoy each moment during this Holiday season!  Cherish the memories!

-Marlene

Categories: Blanket, Throw & Sheet Commentary | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

