Trash Turned Treasure

It’s often been said, “One man’s trash is another man’s treasure.” This statement could not be more true. There is nothing more exhilarating than finding a piece of furniture on the side of the road or at your local Salvation Army! It’s the hunt and the unknown behind someone else’s trash that makes it my treasure.

It was a challenge a year ago when I moved into my apartment on a shoe-string budget with no furniture. How was I going to afford the trendy nightstands that you see in magazines? Oh and that cute accent chair with the perfect throw draped over it? That’s when I started scavenging local flea markets, tag sales, and thrift shops to find the perfect pieces that were budget friendly.

-Emily

Repainted nightstand

Above is a solid wood table that I found at thrift store for $2.00. Check out this before and after…With a little TLC, this table went from drab to fab, making the perfect night stand!

Nightstand bedroom

Pictured above is the nightstand in my bedroom (thrift shop)-$2, Mason jar with plant, antique enamel lamp (local antique shop)-$16, old gold frames painted black with old family photos of my grandparents, and my snuggly Berkshire Blanket comforter.

German enamel dish

A little enamel painted dish my mother gave me years ago that was made in Germany.

Refinished second nightstand

Nightstand refinished to match the other side table by my bed (thrift shop) $2, Basket, glass vase with plant cutting, gold pineapple lamp, wooden framed mirror (tag sale) $2.

Vintage find chair

Above is by far my most favorite find and true bargain! A Danish chair with official marking – (local flea market) $12, Houndstooth throw $10 (Berkshire Blanket Outlet Store), Antique wooden bucket with magazines (my grandmothers), Pillow-brand new with tags (thrift store) $3.

Categories: Blanket, Throw & Sheet Commentary | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

